NaPoWriMo: My Mythical Hero

Published 03rd April 2014 by viewsofpreethib

The promtgiven by the NaPoWriMo to us for this day is “There are many good poems based on myths. Lots of these use Greek or Roman myths. Consider Tennyson’s Ulysees or this more modern example by A.E. Stallings. But today I challenge you to write a poem based on a non-Greco-Roman myth. You could write a poem inspired by Norse mythology, or perhaps by one of these creatures from Japanese legend. Every time and place and culture has its myths and legends, so there’s plenty to choose from”.

I have always belived and prayed to Lord Ganesha since I was a kid. I am glad that today due to NaPoWrimo I got the opportunity so I can tribute this poem to my favourite God.

Google Image

 

My Mythical Hero

Virtual son of the parents,
Favourite son of the mother,
Son who’s the pride of father,
Beloved Lord of the people.

Whose face is of an elephant,
With a long curved trunk,
Snake tied around his waist,
Crescent moon on his forehead.

Beginner of all occasions,
Culmination of obstacles,
King of all knowledge,
Master of truth and morals.
He is the Soul of Music,
Sweets are his favourite,
Mouse is his vehicle,
And, Lord Ganesh is the name.

 

(c) by Preethi.B

8 comments on “NaPoWriMo: My Mythical Hero

  • Leave a Reply

