NaPoWriMo: First Special Feeling.

Published 06th April 2014 by viewsofpreethib

Another form of poem I have never heard of earlier. Omg! Now what is this, was my first reaction when I read about today’s prompt.

Today’s prompt is a little complicated. Today I challenge you to write a “golden shovel.” This form was invented by Terrance Hayes in his poem, The Golden Shovel. The last word of each line of Hayes’ poem is a word from Gwendolyn Brooks’ poem We Real Cool. You can read Brooks’ poem by reading the last word of each line of Hayes’ poem! (In fact, you can do so twice, because Hayes, being ultra-ambitious, wrote a two-part golden shovel, repeating Brooks’ poem). Now, the golden shovel is a tricky form, but you can help keep it manageable by picking a short poem to shovel-ize. And there’s no need to double-up the poem you pick, like Hayes did.

Let me put it in very simple words to understand how to write a “Golden Shovel” form of poem. Choose a line or few from a poem first. Then the lines that you choose from the poem had to be vertically laid on the right side of the margin to creat a new poem.

I have used the first four lines from the poem “Since Felling is First” by E.E Cumming
“Since feeling is first
who pays any attention”
to the syntax of things
will never wholly kiss you;

First Special Feeling.

Butterflies in my stomach, since
When and why do I have this feeling,
I wonder if this is,
Love? Never felt this way, it is first,
Should I talk about this to anyone, But who?
But I have heard love pays,
Should I still talk about this to any,
Am I ready for such an attention,
How do I stop the feeling, to
End, but does he also feel the……
Same, How do I syntax,
And ask him and to know of,
His feelings and it’s not easy, such things
Can’t be initiated by me,will
This ever last forever, never!
I better forget about this wholly,
But why do I wish I could kiss,
On your forehead before I bid farewell to you……

(c) by Preethi.B

8 comments on “NaPoWriMo: First Special Feeling.

  • Leave a Reply

