NaPoWriMo: Black Sheep Of The Wicked Circle

Published 09th April 2014 by viewsofpreethib

Today’s prompt by the NaPoWriMo is to: rewrite a famous poem, giving it our own spin. While any famous poem will do, if you haven’t already got one in mind, why not try your own version of Cesar Vallejo’s Black Stone Lying on a White Stone? If you’re not exactly sure how such a poem could be “re-written,” check out this recent poem by Stephen Burt, which riffs on Vallejo’s.

I am attempting to re-write the poem “Against Evil Company” by Issac Watts.

Black Sheep Of The Wicked Circle

How I hate to be in this circle,
In whom I find no moral,
Who doesn’t pray but only tittle-tattle,
Who defame others, and squabble.

I hate their malicious thoughts,
I dare not to sully my mind,
To their language by paying heed,
As always it causes me agony.

I prefer to be the black sheep,
Rather than getting infected and weep,
Being a part of the flock that is timid,
For their intentions are so wicked,

(c) by Preethi.B

 

12 comments on “NaPoWriMo: Black Sheep Of The Wicked Circle

  • Leave a Reply

