Day 8 – NaPoWriMo 2017 – Alone!

Published 08th April 2017 by viewsofpreethib

Day 8 – NaPoWriMo – Prompt (optional)  for today, “I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that relies on repetition. It can be repetition of a phrase, or just a word. Need a couple of examples? Try “The Bells” by Edgar Allen Poe, or Joy Harjo’s “She Had Some Horses”. Poe’s poem creates a relentless, clanging effect through the repetition of the word “bells,” while Harjo’s repeated use of the phrase “she had some horses” and variations thereof gives her poem poem its incantatory effect, while also deepening its central philosophical conceit of what things are the same and what things are different”.

Seems like I have written this prompt along with the day 6th prompt. 😉

 

Alone!

Image result for free animated images of a girl waiting

 

Here I am,
Sitting on the bench all alone,
Here I am,
Who is singing duet songs alone,
Here I am,
Who is going for couple dance alone,
Here I am,
Checking the couple tattoos alone,
Here I am,
Playing the video game alone,
Here I am,
For a candlelight dinner alone,
Here I am,
Watching the sunset alone,
Here I am,
Going on a long drive alone,
Here I am,
Walking on the beach alone,
Here I am,
Looking at the couple rings alone,
Here I am,
Still dreaming of you alone,
Here I am,
Waiting for my soul-mate alone…..

 

(c) by Preethi B

Leave a Reply

